Canada New Jobs

Japan Across Asia1 to face Canada in Rugby World Cup

CanadaRugby+Team.jpg Canadian National Team Stars to Attack
The Canada national rugby union team represents Canada in international rugby union. They are governed by Rugby Canada, and play in red and black. Canada is classified by the International Rugby Board (IRB) as a tier two rugby nation. There are ten tier one nations, and seven tier two nations, the others being Fiji, Japan, Romania, Samoa, Tonga and the USA. Canada competes in competitions such as the Churchill Cup and the Rugby World Cup. The sheer size of Canada means that talent is scattered across the country making the job of coaches and selectors very difficult. The climate is also unfavourable for playing rugby union for much of the year in most parts of the country.

Canada has been playing international rugby since the early 1930s, making their debut in 1932 against Japan. Canada have competed at every World Cup since the tournament was first staged in 1987, the only North American team to do so. Canada achieved their best result at the World Cup in 1991, where they reached the quarter-finals. Canada is the dominant power of North American rugby and considered second only to Argentina in the Americas. Canada is currently ranked fourteenth by the IRB.
Canada beat the United States in a two-legged playoff game in July 2009 to qualify for the 2011 Rugby World Cup in New Zealand. They will enter the tournament as Americas 1. Japan has participated in the Rugby World Cup since its inception in 1987, and has made appearances in all tournaments thus far. Despite this, they have experienced little success, with just one victory over Zimbabwe in 1991, and one draw with Canada in 2007. Having won both Asian Cups, they qualified for the Rugby World Cup 2011 competition should they repeat their success in the 2010 Asian Cup. They will be the home team for the 2019 Rugby World Cup, which is to be held in Japan. Japan+Rugby+Team.jpg Japan Rugby National Team
Japan (often known as "The Cherry Blossoms" or more recently Brave Blossoms) are traditionally the strongest rugby union power in Asia but has both enjoyed and endured mixed results against non-Asian teams over the years. Rugby union in Japan is administered by the Japan Rugby Football Union (JRFU) which was founded in 1926. They compete annually in the Pacific Nations Cup and the Asian Five Nations. They have also participated in every Rugby World Cup since the tournament began in 1987. However they have only ever won one game at the tournament, against Zimbabwe in 1991. Canada V Japan Tickets for Rugby World Cup 2011 can be bought from You can buy all Rugby World Cup Tickets from SoldOutTicketMarket.

About the author: Roger O' Shuffel is a regular sports analytical expert. Football and Rugby teams and their comparisons are his subjects of specialty.


No comments:

Post a Comment